Crowhurst: St George
A parish within the Oxted Team Ministry
Built: 12/15th century
Listing: grade 2
The small church is an attractive building of 12th and 15th century work with alterations and additions occurring in the 13th and 14th centuries. Although the open trussed roofs are of early date the wooden spire clad with shingles is of recent date replacing the original after a fire in 1946. The interior is simple with mosaic frescoes on the east wall with tombs of the Gainsford family flanking the chancel, one of which is in cast iron probably unique in this country. The font is of Saxon origin apparently and the linenfold panelled pulpit and lectern are reputedly from the Gainsford family house, Crowhurst Place.
The churchyard contains graves, many being well-kept, stretching back several centuries, as well as a 4000 year old hollow yew tree whose immense branches are carefully supported. There is a handsome lychgate dating from the 1930's.