It is organised into two provinces (Canterbury and York) and 42 Dioceses, of which the Diocese of Southwark is one. The most senior cleric is the Archbishop of Canterbury and The Queen is the Supreme Governor. It is also the Mother Church of the Anglican Communion, which numbers tens of millions of Christians from 45 different churches in 165 countries around the world.

Whilst each Diocese is a separate legal entity, with a clear responsibility for a specific geographical area, being part of the Church of England requires and enables each Diocese to seek support from, and work in partnership with, the National Church and other Dioceses.

You can find an explanation of the function of the seven National Church Institutions, which support the mission and ministry of the whole church and all the Dioceses in it, at

For more information on the work of the Church of England to support faith, mission and social justice, visit the Church of England website.

The South London Church Fund and Southwark Diocese Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee (No. 236594).
Registered Office: Trinity House, 4 Chapel Court, Borough High Street, London SE1 1HW. Registered Charity: (No. 249678).

© The Diocese of Southwark 2024. All rights reserved.
Hit enter to search or ESC to close