Useful information


The Crown (1st), The Bishop (2nd, 3rd)

Episcopal Area

Croydon Episcopal Area


Tandridge Deanery


Reigate Archdeaconry

Details of the Church




Unknown/Gordon M Hills



St Mary’s church dates from the thirteenth century but was restored and extended by Gordon M Hills in 1880.

A set of drawings by Haswell from 1825 show a large timber belfry at the west end (similar to the one at Burstow) and in the interior view box pews, a pulpit and no arch to the chancel. In 1880 the west end was reconstructed and the belfry structure considerably reduced in size, and a north aisle, organ chamber, vestry and chancel arch were added to the original nave and chancel. The south porch was moved westwards and a fifteenth century window was re-fixed in the new north aisle.

The roofs are tiled, the spire shingled and the walls constructed of a mixture of Reigate (or Merstham) stone, Wealden sandstone and Bath stone.

The South London Church Fund and Southwark Diocese Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee (No. 236594).
Registered Office: Trinity House, 4 Chapel Court, Borough High Street, London SE1 1HW. Registered Charity: (No. 249678).

© The Diocese of Southwark 2024. All rights reserved.
Hit enter to search or ESC to close