Role of the DAC

  • The DAC advises the Chancellor on faculty matters. The Committee effectively acts as the Chancellor’s technical advisers.
  • The DAC advises parishes. The DAC encourages parishes to involve them early in the process of developing proposals and is very happy to arrange for a group to visit the church to discuss proposals. This is done at no cost to the parish.
  • The DAC approves inspecting architects and surveyors for quinquennial inspections.

Dates of DAC meetings

The DAC normally meets on the second Tuesday of each month (except August). Details of matters for consideration are normally required at least two weeks before a meeting – this gives time for specialist members of the DAC to consider the proposals fully and for papers to be circulated to all members in advance of the meeting.

Dates for 2022


Dates for 2022
Date of meeting Deadline for submissions
11 January 28 December 2021
8 February 25 January
8 March 22 February
5 April 22 March
10 May 26 April
14 June 31 May
12 July 28 June
no meeting in August
13 September 30 August
11 October 27 September
8 November 25 October
13 December 29 November

Due to the dates of Easter and Holy Week 2022, the DAC Meeting is scheduled for the 1st Tuesday of the month, not the 2nd. The deadline for submissions is consequently brought forward by one week.

Constitution and membership

DAC advisers (and most other Committee members) are volunteers who give their time freely and generously. Many are practising or retired professionals in various disciplines that are applicable to works in churches.

Download the Constitution of the DAC

Download the DAC’s Response to Southwark Vision.


HH Nigel Seed KC  – DAC Chair


Archdeacons (ex-officio members)

[c/o Moira Astin] – Archdeacon of Croydon
Ven Simon Gates – Archdeacon of Lambeth
Ven Alastair Cutting – Archdeacon of Lewisham & Greenwich
Ven Moira Astin – Archdeacon of Reigate
Ven Jonathan Sedgwick – Archdeacon of Southwark
Ven John Kiddle – Archdeacon of Wandsworth


Mr Sherry Bates – Architect
Mr Andrew Burke – Sustainability & Accessibility Adviser
Ms Karen Butti – Architect
Revd Helen Cook – Clergy Member of Diocesan Synod
Mr Matthew Cox – Architect
Mr Melvin Hughes – Vice-Chair and Organs Adviser
Ms Delcia Keate – Historic England nominee
Ms Jessica Kennedy – Structural Engineer
Mr Tim Lynch – Architect
Dr William McVicker – Organs Adviser
Ms Laura Morgante – National Amenity Societies nominee
Revd Charlie Moore – Clergy Member
Mr Mike Popper – Sustainability and M&E Adviser
Revd Canon Wilma Roest – Liturgical Adviser and Clergy Member
Mr Stuart Tappin – Structural Engineer
Mrs Alison Walker – Interior Designer
Mr John Wilman – Local Authorities nominee
Ms Virginia Wedgwood – Architect
Mr Bob Wilson – Chartered Building Surveyor

Vacancy – Lay Member of Diocesan Synod

Other advisers

Accessibility Adviser – The Revd Jonathan Macy (also Bishop’s Advisor on Disability)
Archaeological Adviser – Mr Robert Whytehead
Architect Adviser – Mr Russell Hanslip
Architect Adviser – Mr Peter Jamieson
Architect Adviser – Vacancy
Art Adviser – Ms Anna Sikorska
Audio-Visual Systems Adviser – Mr Michael Dyer
Bells Adviser – Mr Robert Cooles
Chartered Building Surveyor Adviser – Ms Alex Baldwin
Churchyards Adviser – Revd Dr Catherine Shelley
Clocks Adviser – Mr Jonathan Betts MBE
Heating Adviser – Mr Martin Dow
Lighting Adviser – Vacancy
Stained Glass and 19thC / 20thC artworks Adviser – Mr Peter Cormack MBE
Trees (Arboricultural & Landscape) Adviser – Mr Greg Packman

The point of contact for the work of the Committee is the DAC Secretary (at Trinity House):
Luke Tatam (020 7939 9457)

Former places of worship in the Diocese of Southwark

The DAC acts as an advisory body to the Bishop and to the Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committee (DMPC) on closing places of worship, and on new churches being built. The DAC and DMPC have jointly produced a booklet on Former places of worship (sometimes known as ‘lost churches’) in the Diocese of Southwark which is provided for the benefit of parishes, academics, and members of the public researching their family history.

The South London Church Fund and Southwark Diocese Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee (No. 236594).
Registered Office: Trinity House, 4 Chapel Court, Borough High Street, London SE1 1HW. Registered Charity: (No. 249678).

© The Diocese of Southwark 2022. All rights reserved.
Hit enter to search or ESC to close