Our Vision

Hearts on Fire with a Vision for growth


The Diocesan Advisory Committee (DAC) is a statutory committee set up under the Care of Churches and Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction Measure 1991.  Section 1 of that Measure states that the DAC "shall have regard to the role of the church as a local centre of worship and mission".

Role of the DAC

  • The DAC advises the Chancellor on faculty matters. The Committee effectively acts as the Chancellor's technical advisers.
  • The DAC advises parishes. The DAC encourages parishes to involve them early in the process of developing proposals and is very happy to arrange for a group to visit the church to discuss proposals. This is done at no cost to the parish.
  • The DAC approves inspecting architects and surveyors for quinquennial inspections.


The majority of DAC members are volunteers who give their time freely. Many are practising (or retired) professionals in various disciplines that are applicable to work in churches.


Mr Philip Fletcher 

Ex-Officio members

Ven Chris Skilton - Archdeacon of Croydon

Ven Simon Gates - Archdeacon of Lambeth

Ven Alastair Cutting - Archdeacon of Lewisham & Greenwich

Ven Dr Jane Steen - Archdeacon of Southwark

Ven Moira Astin - Archdeacon of Reigate

Ven John Kiddle - Archdeacon of Wandsworth


Mr Sherry Bates - Architect

Mr Jonathan Betts MBE - Clocks Adviser

Mr Andrew Burke - Sustainability Architect

Ms Karen Butti - Architect

Mr Robert Cooles - Bells Adviser

Mr Peter Cormack MBE - Stained Glass Adviser

Mr Martin Dow - Heating Adviser

Mr Paul Furness - Audio-Visual Systems & Acoustics Adviser

Revd Tim Goode - Accessibility Adviser

Mr Russell Hanslip - Architect

Mr Martin Higgins - Local Authorities nominee

Mr Melvin Hughes - Vice-Chair and Organs Adviser

Mr Peter Jamieson - National Amenity Societies nominee

Ms Delcia Keate - Historic England nominee

Mr Bruce Kirk - Lighting Adviser

Mr Roderick Maclennan - Architect

Dr William McVicker - Organs Adviser

Revd Charlie Moore - Clergy Member

Mr John Parker - Horticultural & Landscape Adviser

Revd Kathryn Percival - Churchyards Adviser and Clergy Member of Diocesan Synod

Revd Wilma Roest - Liturgical Adviser and Clergy Member

Anna Sikorska - Artist and Art Adviser

Mr Stuart Tappin - Structural Engineer

Mrs Alison Walker - Interior Designer

Mr Robert Whytehead - Archaeological Adviser

Ms Virginia Wedgwood - Architect

Mr Bob Wilson - Chartered Building Surveyor

Vacancy - Lay Member of Diocesan Synod


Emeritus Members

Mrs Ursula Bowyer - Architect

Dr Harry Bramma - Organs Adviser

Mr Richard Millard - Sound and Acoustics Adviser

Mr Geoffrey Pink - Architect



Eur. Ing. Bill Price MBE - Mechanical & Electrical

Mr Derrick Chivers - Monuments and brasses


The point of contact for the work of the Committee is the Assistant Secretary to the DAC (at Trinity House):
Luke Tatam (020 7939 9457)