Useful information


The Bishop

Episcopal Area

Woolwich Episcopal Area


Deptford Deanery


Lewisham and Greenwich Archdeaconry

Details of the Church




Thomas Archer



St Paul’s Church, one of the fifty Commissioners’ Churches, was designed by Thomas Archer (c.1668-1743), a Commissioner himself, and was constructed between the years 1712-1730 when it was consecrated. The triangular Rectory, also by Archer was demolished c.1885.

The church was described by Basil Clarke as follows:

“It is a most imposing church, and is made more so by the stone platform on which it stands. It is almost square though it is, in fact, planned as a nave and aisles. At the four corners are the usual vestibules and vestries, two-storied, with canted walls within the church. The two sides have slight projections of three bays, with pediments; the walls are adorned by pilasters with intermittent rustications.

The tower is circular, with windows, like those of the towers of St John’s, Smith Square, and a spire: the basement is surrounded by a semi-circular portico. At the east is an apse, with a Venetian window which follows the curve. The order inside is Corinthian. The ceiling has admirable plaster work.

There were Victorian repairs in 1856 (John Whichcord) and 1883 (Thomas Dinwiddy), and a sympathetic restoration in the 1930s by Eden and Marchant. The Victorian Norman font came from Rochester Cathedral: the original font was sent to a mission church abroad.”

The brick vaulted basement was refurbished and provided with improved sanitation and a new kitchen in 1993.

St Mark’s Church has been declared redundant and sold.

The South London Church Fund and Southwark Diocese Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee (No. 236594).
Registered Office: Trinity House, 4 Chapel Court, Borough High Street, London SE1 1HW. Registered Charity: (No. 249678).

© The Diocese of Southwark 2024. All rights reserved.
Hit enter to search or ESC to close