Useful information


Turns 1,3 & 4 The Bishop, Incb Bemondsey, St Mary & FW Smith; Turn 2 The Crown

Episcopal Area

Woolwich Episcopal Area


Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Deanery


Southwark Archdeaconry

Details of the Church




James Savage



The church was designed by James Savage, and consecrated on 7th May 1829. It is built of Gault bricks with Bath stone dressings and spire. The interior has a gallery on three sides which is supported on square piers with Ionic columns above. There is a clerestory and a coffered ceiling. The sanctuary has an arched ceiling with a large painting of the Ascension by John Wood (1844) as an altar piece. The ground floor pews date from 1901. The present interior dates from 1965 when the aisles were blocked off. The north aisle is used as a Doctor’s surgery. The building has undergone extensive external repair since 1988 and is currently undergoing internal restoration.

The church of Bermondsey, St Crispin was made redundant in 1999.

The South London Church Fund and Southwark Diocese Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee (No. 236594).
Registered Office: Trinity House, 4 Chapel Court, Borough High Street, London SE1 1HW. Registered Charity: (No. 249678).

© The Diocese of Southwark 2024. All rights reserved.
Hit enter to search or ESC to close