Useful information


Turns 1,3 & 4 The Bishop, Incb Bemondsey, St Mary & FW Smith; Turn 2 The Crown

Episcopal Area

Woolwich Episcopal Area


Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Deanery


Southwark Archdeaconry

Details of the Church




J Porter



The church of St Anne was built in 1869-72 and the hall accommodation was provided in 1894. The buildings lie in the middle of Thorburn Square which is pedestrian precinct surrounded by post-war council housing. There are garden areas to the north and south of the church. The church was built in stock brickwork with stone dressings to piers and buttresses. There is a stone faced bell tower in the south west corner which contains one bell. The roof coverings are natural slate. The hall has separate entrances on the south and east elevations. Part of the hall is used as office accommodation.

The church of South Bermondsey, St Augustine was declared redundant in 1995 and leased to the ABMT Christian Fellowship.

The South London Church Fund and Southwark Diocese Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee (No. 236594).
Registered Office: Trinity House, 4 Chapel Court, Borough High Street, London SE1 1HW. Registered Charity: (No. 249678).

© The Diocese of Southwark 2024. All rights reserved.
Hit enter to search or ESC to close