Our Vision

Hearts on Fire with a Vision for growth

Diocesan Secretary joins Dioceses Commission

11 months, 4 weeks ago

It has been announced that Southwark’s Diocesan Secretary, Ruth Martin, has been appointed to the Church of England’s Dioceses Commission.

Ruth said “It is a great honour to be asked to serve on the body responsible for the way the Church of England’s Diocesan structure is organised. The Commission also oversees good practice in Diocesan administration and I hope that the experience of the Diocese of Southwark’s recent strategic reorganisation of its administrative function will also prove valuable.”

Ruth joined the Diocese of Southwark as Diocesan Secretary in January 2015 from the Chartered Institute for Securities and Investment, where she was Managing Director. One of her first tasks was to oversee the implementation of a ‘root and branch’ review of the Diocese’s administrative function and to implement the ‘Fit for Purpose’ governance changes in the Diocese. Ruth is also a Lay Reader in the Richmond Team Ministry within the Diocese.

The Dioceses Commission, which keeps under review the Provincial and Diocesan structure of the Church of England, consists of 10 members - a Chair and Vice-Chair, 4 members elected from General Synod and 4 members appointed by the Archbishops. Ruth is to become one of its four appointees.

Its principal duties and powers relate to the Provincial and Diocesan structure of the Church of England, good practice in Diocesan administration and the creation and filling of suffragan sees. It fulfils these duties by overseeing and advising on the size, boundaries and number of provinces and dioceses, the distribution of dioceses between the provinces and the number and distribution of bishops, including arrangements for episcopal oversight.