Our Vision

A people with hearts on fire, loving God, walking with Jesus and led by the Spirit

Lewisham Faith Leaders' Joint Statement about Terrorist Incident in Westminster

11 months, 3 weeks ago

Lewisham Faith Leaders (credit Caro Swan, Swan Around photography)

Lewisham Faith Leaders stand together in condemning the terrorism incident that took place on Wednesday 22 March 2017 at Westminster which claimed innocent lives and caused serious injuries to dozens more. Our thoughts and prayers are with the victims and their families.

Heinous acts such as this, perpetrated with such callous brutality, can never be justified, and the Lewisham community stands in absolute solidarity with the people of London in this difficult time. 

We would like to thank the Police and Emergency services for their swift actions and bravery in the face of life-threatening danger. We also pay tribute to the ordinary persons at the scene displaying courage and selflessness in tending to the wounded. 

While we await further news on Wednesday's tragedy, we invite everyone in Lewisham and beyond to join our Annual Walk for Peace on 21 May 2017 that celebrates our strength in diversity while promoting peace, justice, mutual respect and tolerance.

Father Charles Pickstone - St Laurence Church, Lewisham
Reverend Dr Stephen Maunder- Superintendent Minister, Lewisham Methodist Churches
Imam Shakeel Begg – Lewisham Islamic Centre
Father Philip Corbett - St Stephen's Vicarage, Lewisham
Reverend David Rome – Cantor, Catford and Bromley United Synagogue
Mr Joe Burchell – Chair of Catford and Bromley Synagogue
Mr Raj Vallipuram - Trustee of London Sivan Temple
Father Steve Hall - St Mary's Lewisham
The Right Reverend Dr Karowei Dorgu - Bishop of Woolwich
Reverend Carol Bostridge - Lewisham Street Pastors Co-ordinator & District Minister for London Baptist Association
Reverend Bridget Shepherd, Church of the Good Shepherd, Lee
Nigel Desborough - Ecumenical Borough Dean
Rev Stuart Leck - Team Vicar at St Barnabas Church, Catford  & Downham Team Ministry
Reverend Canon Peter Farley-Moore - St John's Deptford
Father Chris Connor - St Saviour's Catholic Church, Lewisham
The Venerable Alastair Cutting - Archdeacon of Lewisham & Greenwich
Graham Price - Chief Inspector at Lewisham Metropolitan Police
Father Martin Thomas– St John the Baptist, Catford
Councillor Janet Daby- Labour Local Councillor for Whitefoot Ward & Lewisham Cabinet Member