



Nicola Thomas

Trinity House 4 Chapel Court Borough High Street London SE1 1HW

d 020 7939 9467 s 020 7939 9400 e diocesan.secretary@southwark.anglican.org

www.southwark.anglican.org

To: Members of Diocesan Synod Cc: Clergy in the Diocese, Lay Chairs, PCC Secretaries

8 November 2024

Nominations to the Vacancy in See Committee

Dear Colleagues,

Following the end of the previous triennium, we are required to open an election process to form a new Vacancy in See Committee.

The Vacancy-in-See (ViS) Committee is established, in the event that there is a vacancy in the role of Diocesan Bishop, to act as Diocesan representatives and provide key roles in the selection of a new bishop. It is a statutory committee and is not intended to be used unless a vacancy arises. The Committee prepares a brief description of the Diocese and a statement setting out the desired profile of the new bishop and elects the Diocesan representatives to the Crown Nominations Commission. The Committee meets at least twice during a vacancy and its Code of Practice and regulations can be found on the Church of England website. The table at Appendix 1 shows the current membership of the Committee. Additional background information can also be found at Appendix 2.

The following are to be elected to the ViS Committee by the Diocesan Synod:

- Two CLERKS IN HOLY ORDERS licensed or beneficed clergy proposed and seconded by a member of Diocesan Synod, elected by the Diocesan Synod
- Eight LAY PERSONS whose name appears on the electoral roll, across the Diocese and who are 16 and over, proposed and seconded by a member of Diocesan Synod, elected by the Diocesan Synod.

We would particularly welcome nominations for representatives from the Croydon and Woolwich areas as they are currently underrepresented on the Committee through exofficio membership. Nominees do not need to be Diocesan Synod members. We welcome and encourage members from a wide range of church traditions, age and experience and we want to ensure that we represent the communities that we serve. As we continue to implement our Diocesan Anti-Racism Charter, we're particularly seeking to increase representation of Global Majority Heritage/United Kingdom Minority Ethnic (GMH/UKME) peoples as ViS members.

Nomination forms are included in this communication (one for clergy and one for laity) which will need to be sent to <a href="Charles Hudson-Beddows">Charles Hudson-Beddows</a> no later than 12 noon on Friday 29 November 2024.



Nomination forms must be signed, proposed, and seconded by a member of Diocesan Synod. Nominations should also include a brief election address of no more than 200 words giving background information and indicating why you are interested to serve on this Committee.

In the event of an election contest (where more nominations are received than there are places to be filled) an online voting system will be used to conduct the election via Single Transferable Vote. The whole of Diocesan Synod are the electorate for both clergy and lay elections.

The timeline for the election is as follows:

Friday 8 November 2024 Nominations open

Friday 29 November 2024 Nominations close at 12 noon

Monday 2 December 2024 Vote opens

Monday 16 December 2024 Vote closes at 12 noon

The term of office of the elected members begins on 1<sup>st</sup> January 2025 and ends on 31 December following the next Diocesan Synod elections in 2027. Please circulate this to anyone you think may be interested

Yours sincerely,

Nicola Thomas

Diocesan Secretary

Ex-Officio

The Dean of Southwark - The Very Reverend Dr Mark Oakley

# Ex-Officio Membership and vacancies for 2024-2027

Bishops The Rt Revd Alastair Cutting The Rt Revd Dr Martin Gainsborough The Rt Revd Dr Rosemarie Mallett	Elected Archdeacons Sit Vacant Sit Vacant
Chairs of the House of Laity & Clergy  The Chairs of the Houses of Laity and Clergy appear under the elected members of  General Synod in this instance.	
Elected & Co-opted Proctors in Convocation of the General Synod The Revd Jonathan Macy The Revd Andrew Moughtin-Mumby The Revd Sandra Schloss The Revd Aneal Appadoo The Revd Canon Anna Norman-Walker The Revd Mae Christie The Revd Jago Wynne The Revd Captain Nicholas Lebey The Revd Dr Charlie Bell	Elected & Co-opted Laity of the General Synod Paul Waddell Helen Ainsworth Rebecca Chapman Alianore Smith Matthew Parkes Rosemarie Wilson Adrian Greenwood Carl Hughes
Elected Clergy Sit Vacant Sit Vacant	Elected Laity Sit Vacant

**Bishop's Council Nominations** 

Sit Vacant Sit Vacant Sit Vacant Sit Vacant

## **Background**

The Vacancy-in-See (ViS) Committee is one of the committees which requires election following triennial Diocesan Synod elections, by the Diocesan Synod. It is established, in the event that there is a vacancy in the role of Diocesan Bishop, to act as Diocesan representatives and provide key roles in the selection of a new bishop. It is a statutory committee and is not intended to be used unless a vacancy arises. The Committee prepares a brief description of the Diocese and a statement setting out the desired profile of the new bishop and elect the diocesan representatives to the Crown Nominations Commission. The Committee meets at least twice during a vacancy and its Code of Practice and regulations can be found on the Church of England website. The Committee comprises ex-officio, elected, and nominated (by the DCT - Bishop's Council) members.

### **Ex-Officio members**

Ex-officio members of the Committee comprise:

- 1. The Area Bishops
- 2. The Dean of the Cathedral
- 3. Two Archdeacons (elected by and from the Archdeacons)
- 4. The Proctors elected by the Diocese to the Lower House of Convocation
- 5. The members elected by the Diocese to the House of Laity of the General Synod
- 6. The Chair of the House of Clergy and the Chair of the House of Laity of the Diocesan Synod.

### **Nominated Members**

Following the election of members to the ViS Committee, the Diocesan Council of Trustees may nominate not more than four additional persons who reflect a special interest in the Diocese or whose nomination is appropriate in order to secure a better reflection of the Diocese as a whole (this includes the spread and mix of membership across lay/clergy among other factors).

#### **Elected Members**

The number of elected members depends on the balance of clergy/lay and Archdeaconry/Area representation of the ex-officio members. The electorate are the members of the House of Laity and House of Clergy of the Diocesan Synod. Nominations (which are to be proposed and seconded) will then be formally elected via Single Transferable Vote (STV). Candidates who are nominated do not have to be members of Diocesan Synod, but must be proposed and seconded by members of Diocesan Synod.