

DIOCESAN SYNOD

Diocesan Council of Trustees: Nomination

House of Laity Only

- 1. Following a nominations process to elect members of Synod to the Diocesan Council of Trustees (DCT), provision is made for up to **six lay persons**, with up-to-date financial or other relevant expertise, to be nominated to the DCT and formally appointed by the House of Laity of Synod.
- 2. There are five lay people who are already serving as chair/members of sub-committees of the DCT who have been appointed meeting. Those formally nominated were:

Nicholas Burt	Chair of the Policy & Finance Committee
Gill Reynolds	Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee
Michael Hartley	Former Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee
Alan Saunders	Chair of the Investment Committee
Nick Stansbury	Member of the Investment Committee

- 3. Following consultation, Bishop Christopher has appointed His Honour Nigel Seed, KC, as Chair of the Diocesan Advisory Committee (DAC). As is convention, and in line with the Diocesan Governance Framework, it is important that the Chair of the (DAC) also is also a member of the Diocesan Council of Trustees.
- 4. His nomination will conclude at the end of the current triennium, or if he ceases to be Chair of the DAC.
- 5. The Chair of the House of Laity, Adrian Greenwood, to move that:

"The House of Laity are asked to formally appoint His Honour Nigel Seed, KC, to the Diocesan Council of Trustees, with immediate effect."





Walking | Welcoming | Growing