Our Vision

Hearts on Fire with a Vision for growth

The Diocese of Southwark

The Diocese of Southwark is one of the 42 dioceses of the Church of England, which is how the Anglican (Episcopalian Church) is known in England. We are in the Province of Canterbury and are part of the worldwide Anglican Communion which has nearly 70 million members. The Diocese of Southwark is twinned with three Anglican Dioceses in Zimbabwe. The Croydon Episcopal Area is twinned with Central Zimbabwe Diocese, the Woolwich Area with Manicaland and the Kingston Area with Matabeleland.  (Southwark Cathedral is twinned with a fourth - Masvingo and Rochester Diocese is twinned with the fifth – Harare.)

Our mission


Population: 2,852,000 (2016)

Area: 317 square miles

Parishes: 293

Churches: 356
(190 are listed buildings)

Our Diocesan vision is:

To serve our communities

Share our faith, with great joy and gladness

Be the church: a people with hearts on fire, loving God, walking with Jesus and led by the Spirit.

The Diocese, which was founded in 1905, covers South London and East Surrey. The area of London north of the River Thames is served by the Diocese of London.

The Diocese is divided into three Episcopal Areas - Croydon, Kingston and Woolwich - each with an Area Bishop, two Archdeacons and a team of clergy and laity who carry out various roles related to vocations, Minority Ethnic Anglican Concerns, women’s ministry and Readers.

Southwark Cathedral

Southwark Cathedral is on the River Thames near to London Bridge, and Shakespeare's Globe Theatre.

Visit the Cathedral website to take a tour of the building, learn about its work in the Community and its exciting Millennium Project.

Please explore these pages for further details about the mission and work of the Diocese of Southwark, or to share news and views on activities of your Church, please contact our webmaster.